Posted by: andreasonlinebiz | February 2, 2009

Balance and Running a Successful Online Business

Starting this online business was also the beginning of a journey of self-discovery.  My eyes are now opened to some of my negative behaviour patterns.  For example, I would often complain that my past employers were obsessive workaholics.

Now I’ve started my own business, I don’t have a boss, right?!  Wrong!  I am my own boss, and I am such a severe taskmaster.  God has such a sense of humour! 😉

I love building my business.  I delight in writing articles and posts for my blog.  However I have a tendency to become overly absorbed in these activities; staying at my computer late at night and then getting up early in the morning to continue.  My business fills my life.

The downside is that I’ve become so focussed on growing my business to the exclusion of anything else in my life.  This is self-destructive behaviour can lead to burnout.  .

Learning to set limits in order to maintain a balanced life is now a personal choice.  I choose add activities that nurture my soul.  I volunteer as a Brownie leader with Girl Guides and connecting with the girls really energizes me.

 

singing-with-a-friend2 

 

Music also nurtures my soul.  Recently I attended an impromptu music reading Sunday after church and learned to sing a Spanish chamber music piece with other music lovers.  Later, attending a Jazz Vespers service at the church was musical bliss, heavenly!

So how do you maintain balance in your life?  Has your business taken over your life?  Or do you have activities that nurture your soul?  What nurtures you?  What makes your soul sing?

If building a successful online business feels like another mountain that you can’t climb, maybe the business isn’t the problem.  Maybe the challenge lies in how you are doing the business.  Are you doing activities that nurture you?

Remember that building a successful business isn’t a sprint, it’s a marathon.  If we want our business to be around for the long haul, we need to build ourselves up so we can last.

You are God’s beloved child.  He has designed you for a life of joyful abundance.  Go out and nurture your soul today!

 

Curious about the online business that I’ve chosen? Check this out!

 

Responses

  1. Very Nice Blog!! Very Inspiring.

  2. Cindy:

    Thanks for your feedback. Come back to the blog and let me know what you think.

    Blessings,

    Andrea


Leave a Reply

Categories

